#universityofthephilippines Board of Regents elects #UPPrexy today #UPDiliman

       From The Philippine Collegian FB post and tweet yesterday: “Malacañang has appointed two new members to the Board of Regents, the university’s highest policy-making body, in time for the selection of the next UP president tomorrow, November 15. (today, Tuesday, November 15, 2016 – blog admin’s note).
         “Lawyers Frederick Mikhail Farolan and Angelo Jimenez will replace Magdaleno Albarracin and Georgina Encanto, who were both appointees of former President Benigno Aquino III to the board. Aquino’s third appointee, Gizela Gonzales Montinola, will remain in her post.

     [blog admin’s note: For reference, the embedded photo below is a screenshot of the BOR page of the website of the U.P. Office of the Secretary of the University showing the names and photos of the U.P. Regents (members of the U.P. Board of Regents), including yesterday’s new appointees: For this morning’s electors of the next U.P. President who will serve a term of six years, please refer to the embedded screenshot below]

          “Jimenez served in the Department of Labor and Employment and was a former student leader in UP Diliman (UPD), serving as both University Student Council Chairperson and Student Regent. Meanwhile, Farolan is currently a Chief of Staff at the Office of Representative Noel Villanueva in Congress.
             “All members of the board will select the next UP President among six nominees tomorrow (today, Tuesday, November 15, 2016 -blog admin’s note) The winner will succeed outgoing UP President Alfredo Pascual after his six-year term ends on February in 2017.
“Pascual, Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Chairperson Patricia Licuanan, Student Regent Raoul Manuel, Alumni Regent Ramon Maronilla, Staff Regent Alexis Mejia, Faculty Regent Philip Padilla, Senate Committee on Education Chair Bam Aquino, and House Committee on Higher Education Chair Ann Hofer complete the 11 members of the board.

             “The nominees include UP College of Law Dean Danilo Concepcion, UP Vice President for Academic Affairs Gisela Concepcion, former UP Vice President for Public Affairs and CHED Commissioner Prospero de Vera, former UPD College of Engineering Dean and Department of Science and Technology Undersecretary Rowena Cristina Guevara, UP Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs Benito Pacheco, and former UPD Chancellor Caesar Saloma.”
    Report by Hans Christian Estavillo Marin

One comment

If the comment posted does not appear here, that's because COMMENTS WITH SEVERAL HYPERLINKS ARE DETAINED BY AKISMET AT THE SPAM FOLDER.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.